« back to Courtney's bio page
It's our first time visiting Disneyland in California with 2 girls who have Celiac. I'm wondering if there are places within the Disneyland Park that have Gluten Free options on their menu? Cross Contamination is a concern since they do have celiac.
- Asked by crystal from OR on 1/4/2014
Welcome to the Disney Parks Moms Panel, and thank you for your question. Yes, there are several gluten-free food options at the Disneyland Resort. I spoke to a Cast Member not long ago about the resources available to Guests in need of gluten-free dining options, and she said it is always best to ask to speak to the chef directly so they can accommodate your family’s specific needs and reduce the risk of cross-contamination since your daughters have Celiac disease.
Many items can be modified, including substituting a gluten-free roll or bun on the sandwiches at Jolly Holiday Bakery, requesting gluten-free waffles in advance at Plaza Inn, and ordering corn tortillas instead of flour at Rancho Del Zocalo. Many snacks at the outdoor vending carts are gluten-free, such as the popcorn (made with a combination of vegetable and coconut oils), Mickey-shaped ice cream bars, cotton candy, Pineapple Dole Whip, and ever-popular turkey leg. However, ingredients can always change, so please confirm in person before enjoying any of these items.
Disney recommends making dining reservations in advance and informing the restaurant of your daughters’ dietary restrictions so accommodations can be made to suit their needs. Please visit Disneyland.com for more information about food allergies and special dietary needs and feel free to ask me any other questions you may have, Crystal!
Wishing you magic,